Australia Day

Pauline Fisher.png

Australia Day is celebrated across Indigo Shire on 26 January each year. There are a variety of events across the Shire that include local entertainment, awards presentations, guest speakers and flag raising and lowering ceremonies. 

Australia Day Awards

The Australia Day Awards celebrate the outstanding individuals and community organisations and businesses in the region who make extraordinary contributions to society.

Anyone can nominate a friend, family member, community leader or colleague who has made a beneficial contribution to our community. 

The awards are open to individuals who reside within and groups who conduct their activities within Indigo Shire.

Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship

The Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship is aimed at young sports people from within Indigo Shire who wish to apply for assistance in pursuing their sporting activities at Regional, State or National levels of competition.

Australia Day Awards 2021 Winners

2021 Indigo Shire's Citizen of the Year:

  • Pauline Fisher
2021 Young Citizen of the Year:
  • Genevieve Love
2021 Certificates of Achievement:
  • Kiewa- Tangambalanga District: Graeme 'Rikki" Schliebs
  • Beechworth and District: John Eldrid

Other Awards:

  • Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year (Joint): Chiltern Ambulance Community Officer Team and the Sandy Creek Recreation Reserve Committee of Management - Kiewa Sandy Creek Community  
  • Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship: Georgia Stefaniak


Image: Indigo Shire Young Citizen of the Year 2021, Genevieve Love.

Genevieve Love.png



If you would like to be notified when the awards open please register here:

Frequently Asked Questions

How does someone become nominated?

Anyone can nominate by completing the appropriate category nomination form and returning it to Council. Nominations must be accompanied by suitable details to assist the judging panel. An individual or group may be nominated in one category only. All nominations must comply with the General Conditions of Entry, have a nominator and referee and submit the required documentation addressing all areas of the selection criteria.

What happens once someone is nominated?

Once nominations close the nomination forms are forwarded to the Indigo Shire Community Grants and Awards Advisory Committee. The committee will preside over the nominations and determine the award recipients. Nominees may, at the discretion of the Selection Panel, be transferred to another category.

How do I find out more information?

For more information, head to the Australia Day Awards website.