Australia Day

Indigo Shire Citizens of the Year 2024

Australia Day is celebrated across Indigo Shire on 26 January each year. There are a variety of events across the Shire that include local entertainment, awards presentations, guest speakers and flag raising and lowering ceremonies. 

We would like to congratulate all our award recipients for 2024:

Christine Dormer – Citizen of the Year

Kurt Sorensen – Young Citizen of the Year

Kergunyah Country Women’s Association – Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year

Joelene Humphrey - Kiewa Tangambalanga and District Certificate of Achievement

Julie Simpson – Rutherglen and District Certificate of Achievement

Colin Harkin - Barnawartha and District Certificate of Achievement

Valma Chenoweth - Chiltern District Certificate of Achievement

Reuben Pfahlert - Emma George Sporting Scholarship

The awards celebrate the contribution of individuals, community organisations and businesses in the region. These prestigious awards are designed to pay tribute to those who make extraordinary contributions to society or who are outstanding achievers in the community.

The Australia Day Awards are a great opportunity for you to recognise a friend, family member, community leader or colleague who has made a beneficial contribution to the Indigo community.

If you would like to be notified when the awards open please register here: