Regional Tourism Update

 Tourism North East Quarterly Update

Victoria is split into 11 regional tourism bodies whose role is to work with Visit Victoria, industry and government partners to support and develop regional tourism. Tourism North East (TNE) is made up of six shires - Alpine, Benalla, Indigo, Mansfield, Towong and Wangaratta – and the three major alpine resorts of Falls Creek, Mt Buller and Mt Hotham.

Indigo Shire Council is a financial stakeholder in Tourism North East which allows our destinations to be a part of larger campaigns with a better reach.

Each quarter TNE provide council with a report on the marketing initiatives, industry development, engagement and PR they have coordinated involving our destinations and our industry. Each quarter this will be available for you here.

Highlights this quarter include:

  • Ride High Country delivering a 41% growth in cycle visitor numbers in the first of their four year campaign.
  • TNE have secured funding under the Wine Growth Fund via RDV to undertake a “Wine Enthusiast” campaign which will involve working directly with a number of our wine industry.
  • The Walk high Country social engagement saw a significant spike in reach and growth due to the Festival of Short Walks (further details in the next quarter)

 Tourism North East Quarterly Report(PDF, 5MB)