Indigo Shire Traditional Owners of Country

Aborignal Flag.png

The Registered Aboriginal Party for Rutherglen, Wahgunyah, Cornishtown and parts of Chiltern and Browns Plains are the Yorta Yorta People. More information about Yorta Yorta can be found on their website.

In other parts of Indigo Shire there are multiple Traditional Owner groups with interests and there is no identified Registered Aboriginal Party to formally recognise.  

You can view the list of all formally recognised Traditional Owners in Victoria here:

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners at an event or gathering:   

If the Traditional Owners for the area where your event is taking place have been formally recognised as the Registered Aboriginal Party, you should acknowledge those Traditional Owners specifically. If the Traditional Owners have not been formally recognised for the land on which your event is taking place, you should acknowledge Traditional Owners generally, without making a reference to the name of any specific Traditional Owners.

Examples of acknowledgements can be found on the Aboriginal Victoria website:

A Welcome to Country can be conducted by a representative of the formally recognised Traditional Owners group.

Indigo Shire Council - Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP)

Following Council’s endorsement on 26 October 2021, our Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan will now progress to Reconciliation Australia for endorsement.

Endorsement from Reconciliation Australia, the lead body for reconciliation in Australia, is a key step in finalising the plan and progressing this document for adoption by Council.  Council will then develop a Working Group to oversee the implementation of the 12 month action plan.

Council looks forward to developing collaborative and productive relationships with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community groups and individuals to help achieve the goals outlined in the RAP.

Useful Links: