New Mayor for Indigo Shire

Published on 30 October 2018

Indigo Shire welcomed a new Mayor tonight after a draw from a hat.

Cr Bernard Gaffney was elected Mayor at the Council’s Statutory Meeting, after a draw from a hat with Cr Larry Goldsworthy after they each secured three votes.

Former Mayor Jenny O’Connor is on leave for a month to contest a seat in the Victorian state election on 24 November and accordingly, did not take part in tonight’s meeting.

Cr Gaffney received three votes from himself, Cr Barb Murdoch and Cr Sophie Price. Cr Goldsworthy received 3 votes from himself, Cr James Trenery and Cr Di Shepheard.

Cr Barbara Murdoch was elected Deputy Mayor unopposed.

Both Cr Gaffney and Cr Murdoch will serve for one year.

Cr Gaffney has been Mayor on three previous occasion, and Cr Murdoch on one previous occasion.


For more:

Cr Bernard Gaffney

0419 181 234

Cr Barbara Murdoch

0407 821 221


Tagged as: