Indigo Shire’s outstanding citizens recognised at Australia Day Awards

Published on 26 January 2020

Alan Pleitner.jpg

Wahgunyah resident Alan Pleitner has been named Indigo Shire’s Citizen of the Year. 

Mayor, Councillor Jenny O’Connor said the award recognises Alan’s role as a catalyst for improvement in his hometown of Wahgunyah.

“I am honoured to announce Alan Pleitner as Indigo Shire’s Citizen of the Year. Alan has worked tirelessly on improving Wahgunyah over many years.

“Thanks to Alan’s vision, Wahgunyah has some wonderful walking and cycling tracks on the edge of town.  He has also been instrumental in driving the Wahgunyah Railway Land redevelopment project, a priority for the Wahgunyah community,” said Cr O’Connor.

Alan’s dedication to serving his community is evident in his many committee roles – he is a member of the Wahgunyah Progress Association (winner of the Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year), Wahgunyah Racecourse and Recreation Reserve, Wahgunyah Railway Land Development Committee amongst others.

He is also a hands-on volunteer, delivering meals on wheels and is heavily involved in the running of the local Anzac Day Service in Wahgunyah.

Councillor O’Connor also announced Indigo Shire’s Young Citizen of the Year, nine year-old Jalani Hemmerling from Beechworth.

“Jalani has demonstrated great compassion beyond her years by sending care packages to Australian Defence Force Personnel serving overseas.

“This is something Jalani decided to do on her own, she researched what to do and carefully selected the items to include in each care package. The Beechworth RSL was so impressed with her efforts, they gave her a donation towards the packages.

“We’re very fortunate to have young people like Jalani in our community,” Cr O’Connor said.

Indigo Shire’s outstanding citizens were recognised at Australia Day Awards ceremonies on Sunday 26 January.

A full list of award recipients is included below:

Indigo Shire Citizen of the Year
Alan Pleitner
Indigo Shire Young Citizen of the Year
Jalani Hemmerling
Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year
Wahgunyah Progress Association
Beechworth & District Certificate of the Achievement
Ian McVea
Chiltern & District Certificate of Achievement
Joan McDonnell
Barnawartha Certificate of Achievement Pauline Fisher
Kiewa-Tangambalanga & District Certificate of Achievement Shelley Lancaster
Rutherglen & District Certificate of Achievement 
Sandra O'Toole
Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship
Tiahn Barnard
Tagged as: