Beechworth named Tidy Town – Sustainable Community of the Year

Published on 28 October 2019

Springtime in Beechworth-6152.jpg

Beechworth has won the Keep Victoria Beautiful Tidy Town – Sustainable Community of the Year Award, which was announced in Dimboola on Saturday 26 October.

“This is the fourth time Beechworth has won the Tidy Town of the Year. This ongoing recognition is testament to the pride and dedication of individual and community groups working to protect and enhance our local environment.

“The Tidy Town award entry is a community initiative, with the support of Council. Well done to the hard-working committee who pulled together the application and thank you to each and every community member doing their bit to protect and enhance our local environment,” said Cr Gaffney.

Congratulations also to the local groups whose entries won in the following categories:

Clean Beach/Waterways Award

Rotary Club of Beechworth was recognised for the Lake Sambell Pontoon project. This award recognises outstanding achievement in protecting, maintaining and enhancing a local coastal environment or area with a body of water such as a bay, river or lake.

Community Action and Leadership (population over 3000) Award

Dr. Trudy Ryan won this award the for the Beechworth Festival of Change.  This award recognises outstanding achievement in protecting, enhancing and promoting the environment through actions which contribute positively to the community, demonstrate leadership, foster community spirit and build stronger communities.

The Keep Victoria Beautiful Tidy Towns – Sustainable Communities Awards recognise and celebrate positive actions taken by communities in regional areas to protect and enhance their local environments.

The awards encompass initiatives as diverse as litter prevention, recycling, protection of the environment, preserving heritage, community action and leadership, and environmental sustainability programs.

Beechworth will now go on to compete at the Keep Australia Beautiful National Tidy Towns Awards being held in Alice Springs in 2020.

Tagged as: