Australia Day Awards nominations now open

Published on 25 September 2019


Indigo Shire Council is calling for nominations from the community for the 2020 Australia Day Awards.

The Australia Day Awards celebrate the outstanding individuals and community organisations in the region who make extraordinary contributions to society.

Indigo Shire Mayor Councillor Bernard Gaffney said Australia Day is the day we recognise some of the unsung heroes of the Indigo Shire community.

“We are lucky to have so many community‐minded and committed individuals and groups in Indigo Shire and it’s important we take the time to recognise and celebrate their contribution.

“I encourage all residents to consider nominating someone who has made a big difference to our community – it could be a friend, family member, community leader or colleague,” Cr Gaffney said.

Awards categories:

  • Indigo Shire Citizen of the Year
  • Indigo Shire Young Citizen of the Year
  • Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year
  • Beechworth & District Certificate of Achievement
  • Rutherglen & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Chiltern & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Yackandandah & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Barnawartha & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Kiewa-Tangambalanga & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship

Applications are also being taken for the Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship. The scholarship is aimed at young sports people from within Indigo Shire who wish to apply for assistance in pursuing their sporting activities at regional, state or national levels of competition.

The awards are open to individuals who reside within and groups who conduct their activities within Indigo Shire.

Nominations close at 5pm on Monday 11 November 2019.

Nomination forms can be completed on the Indigo Shire Council website. For further information go to:


Tagged as: