Community Events


Australia Day

Australia Day is celebrated across Indigo Shire on the 26th of January each year. There are a variety of events across the Shire that include local entertainment, awards presentations, guest speakers and flag raising & lowering ceremonies. 

Australia Day Awards

The Indigo Shire Council Australia Day Awards are now closed and will open again in September 2020.

The awards celebrate the contribution of individuals and community organisations in the region. These prestigious awards are designed to pay tribute to those who make extraordinary contributions to society or who are outstanding achievers in the community. The Australia Day Awards are a great opportunity for you to recognise a friend, family member, community leader or colleague who has made a beneficial contribution to the Indigo community.

If you would like to receive updates about the awards please register here:

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is eligible to be nominated?

The awards are open to individuals who reside within and groups who conduct their activities within Indigo Shire.

How does someone become nominated?

Anyone can nominate by completing the appropriate category Nomination Form and returning it to Council.

Nominations must be accompanied by suitable details to assist the judging panel.

An individual or group may be nominated in one category only and joint nominations wont be considered. All nominations must have a nominator and referee and submit the required documentation addressing all areas of the selection criteria.

What happens once someone is nominated?

Once nominations close the nomination forms are forwarded to the Australia Day Selection Panel. The panel will preside over the nominations and determine the award recipients. Nominees may, at the discretion of the Selection Panel, be transferred to another category.


Australia Day Award Winners

2020 Indigo Shire's Citizen of the Year:

  • Alan Pleitner
2020 Young Citizen of the Year:
  • Jalani Hemmerling 
2020 Certificates of Achievement:
  • Kiewa- Tangambalanga District: Shelley Lancaster
  • Beechworth and District: Ian McVea
  • Chiltern and District: Joan McDonnell
  • Rutherglen and District: Sandra O'Toole
  • Barnawartha and District: Pauline Fisher

Other Awards:

  • Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year: Wahgunyah Progress Association
  • Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship: Tiahn Barnard

Event Promotion

We are able to support the promotion of community events in a variety of ways depending on the nature of the event.
To be eligible all events must have an event listing on the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse (ATDW). This listing is free of charge and will place your event on Council What's On Calendar.

Instructions on how to create an ATDW listing are on this fact sheet(PDF, 631KB), if you require further support please call Council on 03 5728 8000.