Australia Day

Australia Day.jpg

Australia Day celebrations

Australia Day will be celebrated across Indigo Shire on Sunday 26 January 2020. There are a variety of events across the Shire that include local entertainment, awards presentations, guest speakers and flag raising & lowering ceremonies. 

What's on
 Beechworth 8am-9.30am

Community BBQ, award presentations and entertainment. Hosted by the Beechworth Lions Club, Rotary Club of Beechworth, Beechworth CWA and Beechworth Scouts.


Town Hall Gardens, Loch Street Beechworth

 Barnawartha 7.30am-9.30am

Community BBQ, award presentations. Hosted by the Barnawartha Soldiers Memorial Hall Committee.

Soldiers Memorial Hall, High Street Barnawartha


9.45-12pm for for a 10.30am start

Community morning tea, entertainment and award presentations. Hosted by the Chiltern Girl Guides.

Tourist Park, Main Street Chiltern

Yackandandah  8am-10am Community BBQ breakfast, award presentations, entertainment and live music.Hosted by the Yackandandah Lions Club.
Sir Isaacs Park, Isaacs Avenue Yackandandah
 Kiewa-Tangambalanga  11am-1pm Community lunch, award presentations and entertainment. Hosted by the Tangambalanga Lions Club.


Kiewa Memorial Park, Kiewa East Road, Kiewa
 Rutherglen  7.45am-10am

Community Breakfast, entertainment and award presentations. Hosted by the Rotary Club of Rutherglen.

Lions Park,Douglas Street Rutherglen

 Wahgunyah 9.30am-11am
 Community BBQ and award presentations. Hosted by Wahgunyah Progress Association.

Willows Recreation Reserve  


Guest speakers:

Wesa Chau - Rutherglen

Wesa Chau is a passionate advocate for the benefits of cultural diversity and understanding in businesses and organisations. She is CEO of Cultural Intelligence, a specialist consulting firm that helps organisations better navigate cultural diversity and its impacts on design, decision making, customer service, messaging and policy setting.

Ian Coutts - Beechworth and Kiewa

Ian Coutts is a co-founder and director of the Mullagh Wills Foundation which celebrates the Aboriginal Australian Cricket Team tour of England in 1868 and promotes reconciliation through sport more generally. Ian volunteers for numerous community organisations and acts as an advisor to the board for a range of national charities.

Greg Evans

Popular television personality Greg Evans is best known as host of Perfect Match, a show firmly written into Australian television history books. The touchstone TV dating show ran from 1984 to 1991. He continues to support many charities and is regularly seen as a guest on Australian television and radio shows.

Australia Day Awards

The Indigo Shire Council Australia Day Awards are now closed and will open again in September 2020.

The awards celebrate the contribution of individuals and community organisations in the region. These prestigious awards are designed to pay tribute to those who make extraordinary contributions to society or who are outstanding achievers in the community. The Australia Day Awards are a great opportunity for you to recognise a friend, family member, community leader or colleague who has made a beneficial contribution to the Indigo community.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is eligible to be nominated?

The awards are open to individuals who reside within and groups who conduct their activities within Indigo Shire.

How does someone become nominated?

Anyone can nominate by completing the appropriate category Nomination Form and returning it to Council.

Nominations must be accompanied by suitable details to assist the judging panel.

An individual or group may be nominated in one category only and joint nominations wont be considered. All nominations must have a nominator and referee and submit the required documentation addressing all areas of the selection criteria.

What happens once someone is nominated?

Once nominations close the nomination forms are forwarded to the Australia Day Selection Panel. The panel will preside over the nominations and determine the award recipients. Nominees may, at the discretion of the Selection Panel, be transferred to another category.


2019 Australia Day Award Winners

2019 Indigo Shire's Citizen of the Year:

  • Mary Dunn
2019 Certificates of Achievement:
  • Kiewa- Tangambalanga District: Val White
  • Beechworth and District: Jan Morey
  • Chiltern and District: Eileen Collins

Other Awards:

  • Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year: Kiewa Fire Brigade
  • Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship: Callista Race-Stelling

For the full details on each award winner, click here.