Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee

The Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee has been established to provide Council with strategic advice on cultural heritage matters to help it achieve its cultural heritage objectives.

Comprising highly skilled individuals, the committee’s key objectives are:

  • To provide advice and recommendations to Council on policy and strategic direction pertaining to Cultural Heritage matters.
  • To provide advice and make recommendations to Council on shire-wide collections.
  • To make recommendations to Council on the activation of the Burke Museum and Historic Precinct.
  • To advise and make recommendations to Council on the promotion and conservation of Cultural Heritage assets.
  • To advise and make recommendations to Council on benchmark standards of Cultural Heritage practice.
  • To advise and make recommendations to Council on strategic projects to advance Cultural Heritage conservation and promotion.

 More information can be found in the Terms of Reference(PDF, 843KB) .

Committee meetings

The Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee meetings are open to the public and are held via Zoom, at 10am to 11:30am. If you would like to attend a meeting, please email Council to request a link -

Upcoming Meeting Dates:

Wednesday 15 September 2021

Wednesday 15 December 2021

Wednesday 16 March 2022

Committee Members

Committee members were selected by Council based on their skills and experience in cultural heritage practice and strategic capacity. The successful appointees form a skilled committee, that will provide high level, shire and sector wide professional advice to on cultural heritage matters.

The committee will seek to engage with Indigo Shire’s many committed and knowledgeable community groups as part of its operation. The members are:

Dr Robin Hirst PSM
Dr Hirst has more than 30 years’ experience leading museum development. He is Director of Hirst Projects and president of the Australian Museums and Galleries Association. He has been president of the International Council of Museums (Australia) and was Director of Collections, Research and Exhibitions at Museums Victoria for more than two decades.

Dr Jonathan Sweet
Dr Sweet is Senior Lecturer in Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies at Deakin University. He is an honorary fellow at Museums Victoria, and has nearly three decades’ professional experience in the museum sector. His research focuses on the history of museums, contemporary heritage theory and practice and cultural heritage development in the Asia Pacific region.

Elizabeth Marsden
Elizabeth Marsden is Collections and Archives Manager at RMIT University. She has been Collections Manager at the Victoria Police Museum, Manager of the Museums Accreditation Program and Collection Manager for the Sovereign Hill Museums Association. She is a champion for museum sustainability through the Green Museums Program.

Roger Beeston
Roger Beeston, Director of RBA Architects and Conservation Consultants, is a registered architect with more than 30 years’ experience working in the conservation of built heritage, principally across regional and metropolitan Victoria, but also internationally. Roger is Deputy Chair of AusHeritage, Heritage Advisor to the City of Melbourne, and an Honorary Research Fellow at Federation University.

Simone Nolan
Simone Nolan is the director of the Wangaratta Art Gallery. An arts professional with extensive curatorial and leadership skills, she has twenty years’ experience in the museum and gallery sector. Regionally, Simone has worked at Albury LibraryMuseum, Murray Art Museum Albury, Bonegilla Migrant Experience and Beechworth's Burke Museum.

Ashley  Robertson
Ashley Robertson is Program Manager, Victorian Collections, at the Australian Museums and Galleries Association. She has experience supporting more than 600 museums across Victoria in collections management and digitisation. She has worked at National Museums Scotland, UNESCO and Melbourne Museum.

La Trobe University (Youth Seat)
La Trobe University will fill the committee's youth position through a rotating seat for regional students majoring in History, Heritage and Environment at La Trobe Albury-Wodonga campus.

Dr Daniel Cummins
Dr Cummins is Manager, Hume Heritage Programs for Aboriginal Victoria. He is an experienced research archaeologist who has coordinated projects across Australia, Canada, Honduras and Mexico. His current focus is ensuring best practice in the management of Aboriginal heritage in the diverse landscapes of northeast Victoria.

Associate Professor Bruce Pennay
Bruce Pennay is an historian based at Charles Sturt University. His research interests focus on two broad topic areas: the cultural heritage of the NSW/ Victorian border region; and post-war immigration history and heritage.