Advisory committees


Advisory Committees

*Meetings open to the public.

Advisory Committees operate under Section 3(F) of the Local Government Act, and are established and abolished by Council. Advisory Committees have no delegated powers but all have common core requirements, which are listed in the Terms of Reference(PDF, 247KB) , and specific duties, which are listed in Schedule A of their Terms of Reference.

The only exception is the Audit Committee, which operates under Section 139 of the Act, and is governed by a Charter document.

Meeting times, if open to the public, will be advertised on each committee's page, however times and places may change without notice. To confirm, please contact Customer Service on 1300 365 003 or email

Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee

A new shire-wide Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee has been established as a key source of history, heritage and collection advice across Indigo Shire. The Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee  replaces the former Burke Museum & Historic Precinct Advisory Committee and the Heritage Advisory Committee, broadening the committee’s remit to consider cultural heritage right across Indigo Shire. This is part of a Committee Review, which was adopted by Council at the 25 September 2018 Council meeting.

The new Terms of Reference(PDF, 652KB) for the Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee have been confirmed and the new Committee will be made up of a skills-based and representative committee that will consider the whole shire and advise on history and heritage. To register your interest contact


Terms of Reference - Advisory Committees(PDF, 247KB)