Nominations now open for 2023 Australia Day Awards

Published on 18 October 2022

Wes Canny, Indigo Shire Citizen of the Year 2022 in a shirt with pictures of the Australian flag

Nominations for the Indigo Shire 2023 Australia Day Awards are now open and community members are encouraged to nominate an organisation or individual that has made Indigo a better place throughout the year.

The awards celebrate the outstanding people and community organisations across the Shire that make extraordinary contributions to society.

Mayor, Bernard Gaffney says the awards are an opportunity to recognise the people that help make Indigo Shire such a wonderful place to live.

“We are lucky to have so many community‚Äźminded and committed individuals and groups in Indigo Shire and it’s important we take the time to recognise and celebrate their contribution. Without them, Indigo wouldn’t be the place it is.

“I encourage all residents to consider nominating someone who has made a big difference to our community – it could be a friend, family member, community leader or colleague,” Cr Gaffney said.

Awards categories:

  • Indigo Shire Citizen of the Year
  • Indigo Shire Young Citizen of the Year
  • Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year
  • Beechworth & District Certificate of Achievement
  • Rutherglen & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Chiltern & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Yackandandah & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Barnawartha & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Kiewa-Tangambalanga & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship

Applications are also open for the Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship. The scholarship is aimed at young sports people from within Indigo Shire who wish to apply for assistance in pursuing their sporting activities at regional, state or national levels of competition.

The awards are open to individuals who reside within and groups who conduct their activities within Indigo Shire.

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday 11 November 2022.

Nomination forms can be completed online or at any Council office. For further information go to:


Tagged as: