Refugee Welcome Zone

Indigo Shire has been a Refugee Welcome Zone since 30 June 2015.

Council also resolved to support the Federal Government's Safe Haven Enterprise Visa program, which allows people classified as refugees to move to regional Australia for up to five years.

Indigo Shire Council recognises that refugees can make important social and cultural contributions to rural and regional communities.

Refugees also contribute economically, increasing enrolments in schools, lifting demand for housing, and providing workforces for agriculture and industry.

Many members of the Indigo Shire community have expressed their wish to support refugees and welcome them to our community.

The public commitment to becoming a Refugee Welcome Zone is an acknowledgement of the contributions refugees make to Australian society in the fields of medicine, science, engineering, sport, food, education and the arts.

There are 144 Welcome Zones in Australia, including more than 50% of the local government areas in Victoria.

Refugee Council of Australia
Refugee Council of Australia

Last updated: 06 February 2018