Australia Day is celebrated each year across Indigo Shire on the 26 January with events in Barnawartha, Beechworth, Chiltern, Kiewa-Tangambalanga, Rutherglen and Yackandandah. Each ceremony has a flag raising or flag lowering ceremony and presentation of Indigo Shire Australia Day Awards.

Indigo Shire Council Australia Day Awards

The Indigo Shire Council Australia Day Awards are now open! 

The awards celebrate the contribution of individuals, community organisations and businesses in the region. These prestigious awards are designed to pay tribute to those who make extraordinary contributions to society or who are outstanding achievers in the community.

The Australia Day Awards are a great opportunity for you to recognise a friend, family member, community leader or colleague who has made a beneficial contribution to the Indigo community.

Nominations open in September each year and Council invites community members to nominate for the prestigious Australia Day Awards which are presented to local individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to our community.

Awards are:

  • Indigo Shire Citizen of the Year
  • Indigo Shire Young Citizen of the Year
  • Indigo Shire Community Organisation of the Year
  • Beechworth & District Certificate of Achievement
  • Rutherglen & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Chiltern & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Yackandandah & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Barnawartha & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Kiewa-Tangambalanga & District Certificate of Appreciation
  • Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship

Who is eligible to be nominated?

The awards are open to individuals who reside within and groups who conduct their activities within Indigo Shire.

How does someone become nominated?

Anyone can nominate by completing the appropriate category Nomination Form and returning it to Council.

Nominations must be accompanied by suitable details to assist the judging panel.

An individual or group may be nominated in one category only. All nominations must comply with the General Conditions of Entry, have a nominator and referee and submit the required documentation addressing all areas of the selection criteria.

What happens once someone is nominated?

The Nomination Form is registered and a letter acknowledging receipt of nomination is sent to both the nominator and the nominee. Once nominations close the nomination forms are forwarded to the Australia Day Selection Panel. The panel will preside over the nominations and determine the award recipients. Nominees may, at the discretion of the Selection Panel, be transferred to another category.

Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship

The Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship is aimed at young sports people from within Indigo Shire who wish to apply for assistance in pursuing their sporting activities at Regional, State or National levels of competition. More details can be found in the guidelines section of the nomination form.

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday 10 November 2017.


Nomination Form - Australia Day Awards

Nomination Form - Community Organisation of the Year

Nomination Form & Guidelines - Emma George Sporting Scholarship

For further information please phone 1300 365 003 during office hours or email info@indigoshire.vic.gov.au.

A list of the 2017 award recipients can be found here

A list of the 2016 award recipients can be found here

A list of the 2015 award recipients can be found here

A list of the 2014 award recipients can be found here

A list of the 2013 award recipients can be found here