Media Release banner
23 August 2017

Heritage awards aim for broader appeal

Nominations for the highly regarded Indigo Shire Heritage Awards 2018 are now open. The awards have been revamped for 2018 to encourage a broader range of nominations.

The chairman of the Indigo Shire Heritage Advisory Committee, Peter Wood, said the committee had focused on attracting a wider range of nominations in 2018 to broaden the appeal of the awards.

“We are calling them the Cultural Heritage Awards because the awards relate to much, much more than heritage buildings, streetscapes and artefacts,” Mr Wood said.

“Cultural heritage includes folklore, traditions, language and knowledge as well as buildings, monuments, landscapes, streetscapes, books, works of art and artefacts.

“Cultural heritage may have a range of values for different people or groups. It can refer to the aesthetic, historical, scientific, social or spiritual value that the past, present or future generations hold about their cultural heritage.”

 “We are asking people to consider the cultural heritage embodied in a place itself, its fabric, setting, use, associations, meanings, records, related places and objects, as well as buildings, structures and landscapes.

 “And ‘place’ can be small or large. It can be a memorial,  a tree, a building or group of buildings, the location of a historical event, an urban area or town, a cultural landscape, a garden, an industrial plant, a site with in-situ remains, a stone arrangement, a road or travel route, a community meeting place, a site with spiritual or religious connections.”

Mr Wood said the Cultural Heritage Awards aim:

  • to recognise outstanding contributions to cultural heritage conservation, research, education, promotion, interpretation, training and awareness-raising within the Indigo Shire.
  • to honour individuals and organisations whose work has promoted and conserved the Shire’s diverse cultural heritage;
  • to promote the benefits of cultural heritage conservation by promoting examples of good conservation practice and guidance, as well as offering the owners or guardians of our cultural heritage recognition of their invaluable work.

Nominations close on Friday 8 December 2017. Other key dates are

  • Friday 16 February 2018 – shortlisting of entries
  • Wednesday 18 April 2018-– World Heritage Day – Australian Heritage Festival Opens
  • Friday 27 April 2018 – Indigo Shire Heritage Awards Presentations in Beechworth.

Nomination forms and other information is on the Council’s website at

From 2018 the Awards will become a biennial event.


For further information:
Contact Council
Phone 1300 365 003