Media Release banner
24 October 2017

Women Mayor's take stand on Family Violence

As the 2017 mayoralty year draws to an end we can all look back with pride as 2017 holds the highest number of women Mayors ever elected in Victoria’s history.

We stand united in our concern about the unacceptable level of family violence in our communities and we hear the victim’s voices.

We know that the role of gender inequality contributes to the prevalence of domestic violence.

And this is an issue we need ALL to take a united stand on as a community. 

We need to ensure that our approaches are evidence-based and based on best practice from across the world.

We need to change the culture that allows violence by sending the right messages to our children; by supporting early childhood and school educators to embed Respectful Relationships into the curriculum from preschool, throughout primary and secondary education.

We ask all levels of government to unite to work together on prevention of violence, as well as providing service to those needing immediate and ongoing support. 

Raising awareness of gender equity is essential to changing attitudes towards women that can lead to disrespect and violence.

We are asking that all women politicians at every level of government and from all sides of politics join us and pledge to Take A Stand against Violence affecting women and children.

WE also ask our men colleagues and male community leaders to stand beside us and continue to support our efforts to work together against family violence. 

We also thank all of the wonderful service providers and people across the community who are doing so much to address family violence and add our voice to the enormous efforts already being made by so many.

Together we can tackle family violence and make our homes and communities safer places.

Join us in our United effort to say NO to violence against women.


Cr Amanda McClaren

Strathbogie Shire Council

Cr Amanda Stone

Yarra City Council

Cr Andrea Surace

Moonee Valley City Council

Cr Anita Rank

Glenelg Shire Council

Cr Anna Speedie

Wodonga City Council

Cr Bernadene Voss

Port Phillip City Council

Cr Bev Colomb

Mornington Peninsula Shire Council

Cr Carolyn Crossley

Wellington Shire Council

Cr Catherine Cumming

Maribyrnong City Council

Cr Charlotte Bisset

Murrindindi Shire Council

Cr Debra Nelson

Hindmarsh Shire Council

Cr Denise Massoud

Whitehorse City Council

Cr Helen Davidson

Moreland City Council

Cr Jami Klisaris

Stonnington City Council

Cr Jennifer Anderson

Macedon Ranges Shire Council

Cr Jenny O'Connor

Indigo Shire Council

Cr Jo Beard

Corangamite Shire Council

Cr Kellie O'Callaghan

Latrobe City Council

Cr Kim Le Cerf

Darebin City Council

Cr Kylie Gaston

Warrnambool City Council

Cr Margaret O'Rourke

Greater Bendigo City Council

Cr Mary Ann Brown

Southern Grampians Shire Council

Cr Mary Delahunty

Glen Eira City Council

Cr Michelle Kleinert

Manningham City Council

Cr Pamela Clarke

Horsham Rural City Council

Cr Pamela Rothfield

Bass Coast Shire Council

Cr Rebecca Paterson

Monash City Council

Cr Rhonda Sanderson

Mitchell Shire Council

Cr Samantha McIntosh

Ballarat City Council

Cr Sandra Wilson

Hobsons Bay City Council

Cr Sharon Telford

Mount Alexander Shire Council

Cr Sophie Ramsey

Melton City Council


For further information:
Contact Cr Jenny O'Connor
Phone 0417 126 409