Media Release banner
18 September 2017

Clean sweep for Tidy Towns nominations

All 17 Indigo Shire nominations for the Keep Victoria Beautiful 2017 Tidy Town Awards have been selected for the State finals.

"The Tidy Town awards encourage, motivate and celebrate sustainability achievements of rural and regional communities across Australia," the Mayor, Cr Jenny O'Connor, said.

"Congratulations to all finalists, and to the committee who works so hard to keep Indigo Shire towns in the spotlight.

"Most of all, a big thank-you to all those in the community who work year-in, year-out to make Indigo Shire the special, sustainable and liveable place that it is today."

The Keep Victoria Beautiful Tidy Towns Awards celebrate positive actions by communities to protect and enhance their environment.

They encompass litter prevention, recycling, preserving heritage, community action and leadership, and environmental sustainability programs.

Beechworth finalists

  • Active Schools: Beechworth Secondary College, Wooragee Primary School
  • Clean Waterways: Lake Sambell
  • Community Action and Leadership: Social Enterprise in Schools Pilot Program
  • Community Government Partnerships: Plastic Wise Indigo, Beechworth
  • Cultural Heritage: Modernising of Burke Museum
  • Environmental Sustainability: Greener Grass Collective
  • Litter Prevention: Sort and Save, Public Place Recycle Upgrade Program
  • Protection of the Environment: Brain Drain, Loch Street Drainage
  • Resource Recovery and Waste Management: Beechworth Boomerang Bag
  • Tidy Town of the Year: Beechworth
  • Young Leaders The Future: Makers, Year 9, Beechworth Secondary College

Rutherglen finalists

  • Community Action and Leadership: On the trail
  • Cultural Heritage: Music on Wheels
  • Environmental Sustainability: Birds of a Feather Part 2
  • Tidy Town of the Year: Rutherglen
  • Young Leaders: Do the Arthur Mann Walk

The awards ceremony will be held in Horsham on Saturday 25 November. Tickets are available from from next Monday, 25 September. For further details of the finalist initiatives contact Iris Mannik on 0457 431 933.



For further information:
Contact Cr Jenny O'Connor
Phone 0417 126 409