News and Information banner

Indigo Shire Australia Day award recipients

Indigo Shire is very proud to announce the winners of Indigo Shire Australia Day Awards. The award recipients are all residents of Indigo Shire, who work tirelessly to help others just because they love it.

Indigo Shire Mayor Cr Larry Goldsworthy said that we are lucky to have so many wonderful community-minded people in the shire.

“The importance of volunteers in our community is immeasurable. They contribute so much to what makes the Indigo Shire and Australia a great place to live.  They are selfless in the time and effort they put in to helping others out and they make a difference to our daily lives,” said Cr Goldsworthy.

“The recipients of our Australia Day awards have each made an outstanding contribution to the community in which they live and it is very satisfying to see them recognised.

“I congratulate all of those who have received an award. It is due acknowledgement by the Shire and the community of their wonderful work.

“I encourage everyone in the Shire who is able to, if you are not already doing so, to consider volunteering with one of our local community or sporting groups.”

The awards will be presented at events around Indigo Shire tomorrow. There will also be Flag Raising and Flag Lowering Ceremonies, award ceremonies and entertainment for the whole family. 

The award recipients for 2012 are:

Citizen of the year: Mr Stephen Ronnfeldt of Rutherglen. Steve is involved in numerous community groups and events. He is an outstanding, inspirational leader and role model within the Rutherglen Community whose “can do” philosophy and exuberant outgoing personality achieves outstanding results in pursuing goals to enhance and improve essential infrastructure and quality of life activities within the community.

Young Citizen of the year: Miss Imogen Wallace from Gundowring finds the time to actively help others, whether it be promoting or raising funds for organisations such as the Cancer Council, the Blood Bank, and Relay for Life or raising awareness and promoting a positive approach to disability.

Family, friends and the community of Indigo Shire can be justly proud of Imogen.

Community organisation of the year: The Barnawartha Branch of the Country Women’s Association is celebrating their 60th Anniversary this year. This is a well deserved award considering the support the women have given the surrounding Barnawartha community over the last 60 years. The women have been involved in many different fundraising activities and events.

Emma George Junior Sporting Scholarship: Mr Adam Shale of Rutherglen. Adam is an exceptional shooter who has won numerous local and state titles and has represented Australia.

Beechworth and District Certificate of Achievement: Mr John Griffin of Beechworth. John is a tireless community volunteer. John has been a volunteer at both the Beechworth Health Service and Beechworth Montessori School for several years. He is a positive role model and mentor to the children and adults alike that he engages with.

Chiltern and District Certificate of Achievement: Mr Kelvin Duke of Chiltern. Kelvin has resided in Chiltern for the last 17 years and during this time has devoted himself to helping various voluntary groups within the town.

Rutherglen and District Certificate of Achievement: Mr Brendan “Fox” Smith of Rutherglen is an inspirational community leader, who has been involved in a number of community groups and fundraising efforts.

Yackandandah and District Certificate of Achievement: Mr Ian Moyle of Yackandandah. Ian has contributed his time generously to numerous community groups and as a member of the Yackandandah Lions Club.

Kiewa – Tangambalanga Certificate of Achievement: Mr Joe Peake & Mrs Betty Peake of Tangambalanga have been active members of countless community groups over the past forty years. They are very generous and supportive community members and are always wiling to help out.

For media comment contact the, Mayor Cr Larry Goldsworthy, on 03 5728 2973.