Audit Committee


The Audit Committee helps Indigo Shire Council in its oversight responsibilities for the financial reporting process, systems of internal control, audit processes, and monitoring compliance with legislation, regulations and Council’s Code of Conduct.

The Audit Committee is an Advisory Committee and it operates under Section 139 of the Local Government Act.

Audit meetings are held 'in camera', which means they are closed to the public and minutes are not publicly available - however the Chairperson submits a report to Council after every meeting which is publicly available within Council meeting agendas.

Audit Committee meetings are held quarterly and the Committee consists of four independent members and two Councillors:

  • Kay Thawley (Chairperson)

  • Kate Thomson
  • Joh Barker
  • Rob Anderson

  • Cr Bernard Gaffney
  • Cr Sophie Price

Council's auditors are:

  •  Crowe Horwath External Auditors (Appointed by the Victorian Auditor-General’s Office)

Audit Committee Charter Word Document [9 pg, 120KB] PDF [9 pg, 120KB]

Last updated: 01 August 2018