Advisory Committees

Indigo Shire Council are calling for Expressions of Interest from the community for membership on two very important Advisory Committees to Council:

Community Grants and Awards Advisory Committee

The Committee will generally meet twice a year to:

  • Consider all applications submitted under Council’s Community Grants Program and make recommendations to Council on which projects should be funded
  • Consider all nominations for the Australia Day Awards including the Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Organisation of the Year and the Emma George Scholarship and make recommendations to Council on the successful nominees for these Awards.

Application form can be found here

Indigo Community Access Advisory Committee

The Committee will provide advice and feedback to help Council to provide services, resources, facilities and events that are accessible and inclusive for everyone who lives in and visits the shire. The Committee meet around once a month and will:

  • Provide advice to Council on the implementation of the Indigo Shire Council Access and Inclusion Plan
  • Provide a consultative role to Council for the development of plans, strategies and projects that may require access and inclusion considerations
  • Provide advice to Council on access and inclusion issues.

Application form can be found here

Expressions of Interest for both Committees close at 5pm Friday 20 July 2018 and are to be forwarded to: The Community Development Team - Indigo Shire Council, PO Box 28, Beechworth VIC 3747 or emailed to

Advisory Committees operate under Section 3(F) of the Local Government Act, and are established and abolished by Council. Advisory Committees have no delegated powers but all have common core requirements, which are listed in the Terms of Reference, and specific duties, which are listed in Schedule A of their Terms of Reference.

The only exception is the Audit Committee, which operates under Section 139 of the Act, and is governed by a Charter document.

Meeting times, if open to the public, will be advertised on each committee's page, however times and places may change without notice. To confirm, please contact Customer Service on 1300 365 003 or email

Advisory Committees

*Meetings open to the public.

Last updated: 26 June 2018