Heritage Awards 2017 - 2018


The Indigo Shire Heritage Advisory Committee is proud to advise that nominations are open for the 2018 Indigo Shire Cultural Heritage Awards program. From 2018 the Awards will become a biennial event.

Cultural heritage includes both tangible cultural heritage (such as buildings, monuments, landscapes, streetscapes, books, works of art and artefacts) and intangible cultural heritage (such as folklore, traditions, language and knowledge). Cultural heritage may have a range of values for different individuals or groups. This value is referred to as cultural heritage significance. Cultural heritage significance refers to the aesthetic, historic, scientific, social or spiritual value that past, present or future generations hold in relation to their cultural heritage.

Cultural heritage significance for tangible cultural heritage is embodied in the place itself, its fabric, setting, use, associations, meanings, records, related places and related objects, i.e

“Place has a broad scope and includes natural and cultural features. Place can be large or small: for example, a memorial, a tree, an individual building or group of buildings, the location of an historical event, an urban area or town, a cultural landscape, a garden, an industrial plant, a shipwreck, a site with in situ remains, a stone arrangement, a road or travel route, a community meeting place, a site with spiritual or religious connections” (Burra Charter, 2013: 2).

The Indigo Shire Cultural Heritage Awards 

  • aim to recognise outstanding contributions to cultural heritage conservation, research, education, promotion, interpretation, training and awareness-raising within the Indigo Shire.
  • to honour individuals and organisations whose work has promoted and conserved the Shire’s diverse cultural heritage;
  • to promote the benefits of cultural heritage conservation by promoting examples of good conservation practice and guidance, as well as offering the owners or guardians of our cultural heritage recognition of their invaluable work.

The Awards will be guided by the recommendations of the Indigo Shire Heritage Advisory Committee and the Heritage Advisor.

Key dates:

  • Monday 21 August 2017                   – Nominations open
  • Friday 8 December 2017                   – Closing date for entries
  • Friday 16 February 2018                   – Shortlisting of entries
  • Wednesday 18 April 2018                 – World Heritage Day – Australian Heritage Festival Opens
  • Friday 27 April 2018                           – Indigo Shire Heritage Awards Presentations Beechworth

Cultural Heritage Awards Guidelines

Nomination Form

Please contact the Heritage Awards Officer, Shire Planning Office on 03 5728 8000 or 1300 365 003 (local call) for further information.

1 The Australia ICOMOS Burra Charter, 2013 defines the basic principles and procedures to be followed in the conservation of places of cultural heritage significance in Australia. The Burra Charter can be found at: http://australia.icomos.org/wp-content/uploads/The-Burra-Charter-2013-Adopted-31.10.2013.pdf.

Last updated: 29 January 2018